My Kid Discovers the Difference Between Mommy and Daddy

My kid is full of little gems.

The latest came a few days ago…

My husband decides to take a leak while I am in the bathroom getting ready for work, and my son comes in wondering where daddy is.

The Kid: (Looks at Dad using the bathroom like a big boy) Daddy, that’s your penis?

Dad:  Yes.

The  kid comes over to me and starts pushing my legs.  I think he is trying to move me out of the way so he can walk out of the bathroom.  I move but he persists and doesn’t leave.

Me: What are you doing?

The Kid: Mommy, where is your penis?  I’m looking for your penis, but I don’t see it.

Me: (Trying to keep a straight face). Umm… I don’t have a penis.

The Kid: (Looks a little confused.)

Me: Only you and daddy have penises.  Because you’re boys.

The Kid: You don’t have a penis because you’re a Mommy?

Me:  Yes.  Exactly.  Mommies don’t have penises.

The Kid:  Oh ok.

He walks out of the bathroom just as casually as he came in, and I look at my husband with my eyeballs jutting out in shock.  That is not a conversation I was expecting to have with my two year old.

We’re potty training him, and I’ve talked to him about positioning himself correctly, and how it’s important that he use the potty like Mommy and Daddy.  I suppose I should have just said to use the potty like Daddy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

